Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 11.5 ISO and Windows 10 (Read 57292 times)
OldCasper
Technoluster

I Love Ghost!

Florida, USA

Re: Ghost 11.5 ISO and Windows 10
Reply #60 - Sep 22nd, 2023 at 6:52pm

I said:  "when I install Windows xx and then I let it get the drivers for my Video Card, etc. I then turn Windows Updates OFF".  And so far, I've gotten along, for years, without ever getting any MS Updates.

As a working PC tech, I've had to recover many PC's that were Shut Down by an errant MS Update.
I just won't allow that to happen to my own PC. That would be really stupid of me.
I've always just figured that if an OS ran OK, the day I first installed it, then by Gawd it should run OK, a day, week, month or even years later.   That's always worked for me!

So, what OS are you using?

Cool

A man with experience is never at the mercy of a man with an argument.

IP Logged

Christer
Übermensch

Sweden

Reply #61 - Sep 23rd, 2023 at 1:22am

In the past, each patch-tuesday, you were offered several updates, addressing separate issues but nowadays, you get them bundled into a single update that takes "for ever" to install. I believe that the system with separate updates was better. Take note that I "believe" - I don't know.

I agree that if the OS runs fine day one, it should keep running fine but as I understand it, at least some of the updates address vulnerabilities (from hackers and other) that were unknown day one.

I run Windows 10 - 19045.3448

Old chinese proverb:
If I hear - I forget, If I see - I remember, If I do - I understand

IP Logged

OldCasper
Technoluster

I Love Ghost!

Florida, USA

Reply #62 - Sep 24th, 2023 at 1:37pm

Windows 10 is going down a dirt road, and the bridge is OUT!

Windows 11, is very much Win-10, with a new look and a few other refinements.